Video: Honoring Science that Matters with the Enrico Fermi Awards

on February 12, 2014 at 5:00 PM

Last week, Secretary Moniz presented Dr. Allen Bard and Dr. Andy Sessler with the 2013 Enrico Fermi Award, one of the government’s oldest and most prestigious awards for scientific achievement, at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. The Fermi Award honors the memory of Nobel Laureate Enrico Fermi, the first scientist to achieve a nuclear chain reaction and a pioneer in the field of nuclear and particle physics.

Dr. Bard was recognized for his contributions to the field of electrochemistry, which holds significant promise for recent advances like batteries and fuel cells. Dr. Sessler was recognized for his contributions to particle physics and the development of current-generation particle accelerators and storage rings deployed at leading research institutions throughout the world. In addition, he was lauded for his work as an international advocate for scientific freedom and human rights.
Check out the video recap above to learn more about these incredible scientists and their contributions to our nation’s leadership in science and technology.