The Championships - Wimbledon 2013: Day Thirteen

The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy gives out Champion of Energy Efficiency awards annually for “leadership and accomplishment in the energy field”. This year’s winners have made big strides in energy efficiency advocacy, policy and actual implementation of energy efficiency programs.

Let’s face it…it’s not quite as sexy as the Oscars. But energy efficiency is getting more and more attention as a common-sense, cost-effective (often cost-cutting) way of not only easing pressure on energy prices and production activities of all kinds, but also of reducing greenhouse gas emissions. And as climate change moves into the US mainstream as a more commonly accepted threat (yes, we know that the debate is far from over), using less has more and more appeal.

Here are this year’s winners:

  • Paul Scheihing, Technology Manager for the Department of Energy’s Advanced Manufacturing Office: “leadership in implementation of industrial energy efficiency, and a career of advocating for energy efficiency within government and industry”.
  • Rick Marsh, Director of the Industrial Energy Efficiency Network: “leadership in industrial energy efficiency in the Southeast, and serving as a mentor to other industrial energy efficiency professionals around the country”
  • Joe Almaguer, Dow Chemical Global Energy Efficiency and Conservation Leader: “a career of implementing industrial energy efficiency at The Dow Chemical Company, and providing leadership on industrial energy efficiency policies globally”
  • Jennifer Eskil, Industrial Sector Lead for the Bonneville Power Administration’s Energy Smart Industrial Program, and the Program Itself: “development and delivery of an exemplary industrial energy efficiency program on an aggressive schedule with impressive results”

Congrats, guys!